fermer
retour en haut de la page
Events
Home > Events > [FRB-CESAB] Biodiversity knowledge synthesis: an introduction to meta-analyses and systematic reviews – 2022
October 2022  I  Course  I  Cesab  I  Other subjects

[FRB-CESAB] Biodiversity knowledge synthesis: an introduction to meta-analyses and systematic reviews – 2022

[FRB-CESAB] Biodiversity knowledge synthesis: an introduction to meta-analyses and systematic reviews – 2022

The CESAB – Centre for Biodiversity Synthesis and Analysis – of the FRB is offering the first edition of the following training course: “Biodiversity knowledge synthesis: an introduction to meta-analyses and systematic reviews“. This five-day course aims to train young researchers on the methods and techniques of meta-analyses and systematic reviews/maps applied to the field of biodiversity.

 

In addition, it will be an opportunity to become familiar with the various  different tools available, both bibliographic (e.g., WOS; Zotero/Mendeley/Endnote) and statistical (R packages: metaDigisitise, metafor…), necessary for undertaking a review and meta-analysis.

 

The training course will be given in French and will take place from 3 to 7 October 2022 at CESAB, in Montpellier. The price will be 350 € for the week, including lunch. Travel, accommodation and evening meals are at the expense of the participants. 

 

Proficiency in R software is required but no experience in meta-analysis or systematic review is necessary. Please fill the form below to pre-register. 

 

List of organizers (by alphabetical order):

 

Other speakers: Dakis-Yaoba OUEDRAOGO, Romain SORDELLO, Frédéric GOSSELIN.

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

3 – 7 October 2022

 

• Pre-registration opening

24th May 2022

 

• Pre-registration deadline

24th June 2022, midnight (CEST)

CESAB – FRB

5, rue de l’École de médecine

34000 Montpellier

FRANCE

 

Contact

 

Joseph LANGRIDGE

FicheMail

 

Nicolas CASAJUS 

FicheMail

Pre-registration form


Critères de sélection / Selection criteria


More information
Meta analyses and Systematic reviews are becoming more and more popular in the scientific literature. We need such approaches, especially in the field of ecology, because there is an ever-increasing number of studies looking at very similar questions, and frequently with contradictory/differing results. Indeed, it is very challenging for the average reader, clinician, manager, or even researcher to make sense of this mass of scientific literature without it being treated and synthesized in a meaningful way.
 
Historically, the application of meta-analysis first came from the field of medical research (Cochrane) designed to objectify decision making (medical treatments) through quantitatively synthesizing a large collection of results from individual studies. In ecology, there existed narrative reviews. They were often written by expert opinion leaders, but were done using non-systematic methods, and based on the research that is known to them, as opposed to the full spectrum of existing knowledge. 
 
Today, the importance of using systematic methods to reduce bias in reviews of a body of evidence is somewhat distinguished as an issue separate from meta-analysis. Systematic reviews follow a standardized framework ensuring objectivity, comprehensiveness, transparency, and replicability to identify and synthesize the results of all relevant independent studies (for ecology, the reference association is the Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE)). They are often considered the strongest form of scientific evidence synthesis because they minimize the different types of bias offering increased statistical power and robust results, which can help to resolve conflicting results across primary studies.
Programme
Monday 3 October 2022
  • Welcoming participants and introduction to the week  
  • Introduction to knowledge synthesis  
  • The systematic review protocol  
  • Bibliographic databases (Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar)  
  • Formulation of the search equation (PECO/PICO approach) 
  • Constitution of the corpus (Zotero, Mendeley)  
  • Corpus cleaning (R package: revtools) 
 
Tuesday 4 October 2022
  • Article screening: systematic methods 
  • Article selection: eligibility criteria 
  • Metadata extraction 
  • Qualitative synthesis and data visualisation 
 
Wednesday 5 October 2022
  • Critical appraisal: understanding its importance in meta-analyses/systematic reviews, learn how to conduct one
  • Introduction to meta-analytical approaches: how to calculate an effect-sizes; what are the different types of metrics e.g., hedges d/g or odd ratios (R package metaphor)
  • Quantitative data extraction: what tools are available (R package: metaDigitise, plotdigitzer)
  • Quantitative synthesis: visualizing the data e.g. forest plots, intervalles de confiances (R package : ggplot2) 
  • Risk of bias and interpretation of meta-analysis results 
 
Thursday 6 October 2022
  • Group projects: conducting a meta-analysis with your chosen methods 
 
Friday 7 October 2022
  • Restitution of the week: presentation of the results

fermer
retour en haut de la page
Événements
Accueil > Événements > [FRB-Cesab] La synthèse des connaissances sur la biodiversité : introduction aux méta-analyses et revues systématiques – 2022
octobre 2022  I  Formation  I  Cesab  I  Autres sujets

[FRB-Cesab] La synthèse des connaissances sur la biodiversité : introduction aux méta-analyses et revues systématiques – 2022

[FRB-Cesab] La synthèse des connaissances sur la biodiversité : introduction aux méta-analyses et revues systématiques – 2022
 
Le CesabCentre de synthèse et d’analyse sur la biodiversité –de la FRB propose la première édition de la formation «La synthèse des connaissances sur la biodiversité : introduction aux méta-analyses et revues systématiques».
 
Cette formation de cinq jours a pour objectif de former de jeunes chercheurs/chercheuses aux techniques de méta-analyses et des méthodes des revues/cartes systématiques appliquées au domaine de la biodiversité. Ce sera aussi l’occasion de se familiariser avec les différents outils disponibles à la fois bibliographiques (e.g.,WOS; Zotero/Mendeley/Endnote) et statistiques (packages R : metaDigisitisemetafor…) nécessaires pour entreprendre une revue et méta-analyses.
 
Cette formation sera dispensée en français et se déroulera du 3 au 7 octobre 2022 dans les locaux du Cesab à Montpellier. Son prix sera de 350 € pour la semaine  – repas du midi inclus. Les frais de transport, d’hébergement et les repas du soir seront à la charge des participant(e)s.

 

Une bonne maîtrise du logiciel R est requise mais il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir une expérience en méta-analyses ou en revue systématiques. Merci d’utiliser le formulaire de pré-inscriptions ci-dessous.

 

Liste des organisateurs (par ordre alphabétique) :

 

Autres intervenants : Dakis-Yaoba OUEDRAOGO, Romain SORDELLO, Frédéric GOSSELIN.

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

3 – 7 octobre 2022

 

• Ouverture des pré-inscriptions

24 mai 2022

 

• Clôture des pré-inscriptions

24 juin 2022, minuit (CEST)

CESAB – FRB

5, rue de l’École de médecine

34000 Montpellier

 

Contact

 

Joseph LANGRIDGE

FicheMail

 

Nicolas CASAJUS 

FicheMail

Formulaire de pré-inscriptions


Critères de sélection / Selection criteria


Plus d'informations
Les méta-analyses et les revues systématiques sont de plus en plus utilisés pour synthétiser la littérature scientifique d’un domaine particulier, et notamment en écologie. Historiquement, la méta-analyse est issue de la recherche médicale (Cochrane) conçue pour une prise de décision (traitements médicaux) objective en synthétisant de manière quantitative une grande collection de résultats provenant d’études indépendantes. En écologie, il existait des synthèses narratives, souvent rédigées par des experts, et réalisées à l’aide de méthodes non systématiques basées sur les recherches dont ils avaient connaissance, par opposition au spectre complet des connaissances existantes. 
 
Les méthodes systématiques pour réduire les biais dans les revues de littérature sont désormais considérées comme des méthodes distinctes de la méta-analyse. Aujourd’hui, les revues systématiques suivent un plan méthodologique et standardisé garantissant l’objectivité, l’exhaustivité, la transparence et la reproductibilité pour identifier et synthétiser les résultats de toutes les études indépendantes pertinentes (pour l’écologie, l’association de référence est la Collaboration for Environmental Evidence (CEE)). Elles sont souvent considérées comme la méthode la plus solide car elles minimisent les différents types de biais offrant une puissance statistique accrue et des résultats robustes, ce qui peut aider à résoudre les résultats contradictoires entre les études primaires.
Programme
Lundi 3 octobre 2022
  • Accueil et présentation de la semaine 
  • Introduction à la synthèse des connaissances
  • Le protocole de revue systématique 
  • Bases de données bibliographiques (Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar) 
  • Formulation de l’équation de recherche (approche PECO/PICO) 
  • Constitution du corpus (Zotero, Mendeley) 
  • Nettoyage du corpus (package R : revtools) 
 
Mardi 4 octobre 2022
  • Tri des articles : méthodes systématiques 
  • Tri des articles : critères d’éligibilités 
  • Extraction des métadonnées 
  • Synthèses qualitatives et visualisation des données 
 
Mercredi 5 octobre 2022
  • L’analyse critique (ou critical appraisal en anglais) : comprendre son importance en méta-analyse / revue systématique, et apprendre la mettre en œuvre
  • Introduction aux approches méta-analytiques  : calcul des effect-sizes ; découvre les différents types de métrique ex. hedges d/g, odd ratios (package R : metafor)
  • Extraction des données quantitatives : les outils disponibles (package R : metaDigitise, plotdigitzer) 
  • Synthèse quantitative : visualisation des données ex. forest plots, intervalles de confiances (packages R : ggplot2)
  • Le risque de biais et interprétation des résultats des méta-analyses 
 
Jeudi 6 octobre 2022
  • Projets en sous-groupes : effectuer une méta-analyse avec les méthodes choisies 
 
Vendredi 7 octobre 2022
  • Restitution de la semaine : présentation des résultats